The Urinals - Vinyl Bundle (Deluxe Edition)


Sold Out

Deluxe version includes all three 7-inches on color vinyl + limited edition t-shirt. Mail-order exclusive, not available in stores.

Hailing from the late-'70s underground of Los Angeles, The Urinals were often called "the American Wire" for their graceful tension, wild energy and trademark brevity. Recorded with a sole microphone and guitar / bass running through a single amplifier, their debut 1978 EP defies its limitations while defining The Urinals' unique aesthetic. "Dead Flowers," "Hologram" and "Last Days of Man on Earth" are not simply classic songs, they are venerable punk haiku raw and unrestrained.

Originally released in 1979 on the band's own Happy Squid Records, The Urinals' second 7-inch picks up where their first left off. Bookended by the slow-building pressure of "Black Hole" (covered by The Gun Club and Grass Widow, among others) and rapid-fire surge of "Ack Ack Ack Ack" (famously covered by The Minutemen), Another EP shows what happens when dynamic songwriting meets condensed attitude. Essential recordings that are best appreciated in small doses, repeated over and over and over.

The Urinals' third 7-inch, from 1980, demonstrates the group's increased technical proficiency and fuller production that the same members would later bring to their next project, 100 Flowers, under which moniker they produced an outstanding album (also available on Superior Viaduct). "Sex" and "Go Away Girl" (penned by David Nolte of The Last) are propulsive, lo-fi statements that lay waste to the A-side in under three minutes classic Urinals form. Faithfully restored with test tones on the B-side to ensure your hi-fi is set properly for these sounds.

Track Listing:

First 7-inch

  1. Dead Flowers
  2. Hologram
  3. Last Days of Man on Earth
  4. Surfin' With the Shah

Second 7-inch

  1. Black Hole
  2. I'm White and Middle Class
  3. I'm a Bug
  4. Ack Ack Ack Ack

Third 7-inch

  1. Sex
  2. Go Away Girl