Cindy Lee - Malenkost LP


Sold Out

Label: W.25TH

Download card includes bonus track "Revelation."

Cindy Lee is the brainchild of singer / guitarist Patrick Flegel. While some may know Flegel from their time spent in Canadian experimental indie band Women, Cindy Lee has spent the past four years crafting songs that push and pull in opposing directions – from tales of tragedy laced with haywire distortion to moments of breathtaking beauty.

On Malenkost, Flegel combines everything that makes Cindy Lee so essential: heart-wrenching romantic pleas, rough shards of noise and twilit ballads. Featuring the lo-fi pop single "A Message From The Aching Sky," Malenkost sounds like Deerhunter playing The Supremes or vice versa.

Superior Viaduct's imprint W.25TH presents the first of many Cindy Lee releases. Spectral and timeless, the music of Cindy Lee is hauntingly familiar yet of another plane, a magical collision of Brill Building hooks and uncompromising No Wave.

"Cindy Lee is intensely dark and cathartic, an eerie fever dream of fleeting, utterly heartbreaking classic girl-group melodies ... one of the best things we have heard all year." – Gorilla vs. Bear

Track Listing:

  1. No Worth No Cost
  2. Always Lovers
  3. Hopeless In A Trance
  4. Cash Money
  5. I've Seen His Face Before
  6. Gallows Smile
  7. A Message From The Aching Sky
  8. Coroner Of The State
  9. Claim Of Vanity
  10. Prayer Of Baphomet
  11. Death Sentence
  12. Hash Angel